# **MwALT 2012 Business Meeting Minutes**

at the 14<sup>th</sup> Annual MwALT Conference in Urbana-Champaign, Illinois

3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Levis Faculty Center University of Illinois

39 people in attendance

Meeting called to order at 5:55 by Paula Winke, seconded by Fred Davidson.

#### **Announcements**

Barb Dobson: Spaan Fellowship Award

Approval of 2011 minutes: Minutes approved by Dan Douglas and seconded by Lia Plakans

# **Outgoing members of MwALT**

Sprios Papageorgiou has relocated to ETS

Erik Voss is now working in at Northeastern University in Boston

Nominations will be accepted for Member-at-Large and Secretary

Mark Chapman was nominated as Member-at Large

Scott Walters was nominated as Secretary fswalters@hotmail.com

Elections to follow.

# Thank you to the local 2012 hosts / student organizers

Sun Joo Chung, Stephanie Gaillard, Junli Wei, and Iftikhar Haider.

# **Awards Presentation by Paula Winke**

Best Student Paper Award goes to Cary Lin who was awarded a book and a plaque

Best Student Presentation Award went to Stephanie Gaillard

### **Activities Report by Paula Winkke**

The next conference MwALT 2013 will be held on Sept 21<sup>st</sup> at Michigan State University.

The theme will be "Authentic Assessments". There will be an eye-tracking workshops on Friday afternoon. More will be added if interest in great. Attempts will be made to house graduate students near campus. Saturday night reception will be planned.

#### Treasurers' Report by Pedro Cordova

MwALT organization currently has \$7,581.30

Pedro would like to increase our funds to have more fabulous conferences

The comment was made to keep the conference and membership income separate because the conference funds go to local hosts.

Dan Douglas asked about adding email addresses of current and new members to the MwALT listserv.

The MwALT Listserv will be updated with new members

#### M at Large report

Paula on behalf of Spiros

Papers should not be a thesis for dissertation paper. They should be classroom papers.

We are getting more students to submit papers.

### Student representatives for the next year will be chosen from the next host and announced later.

Officer terms are three years

Old Business: None New business

Website will remain at Iowa State for now

Mark Chapman as new Member-at-Large approved

Meeting be adjourned at 6:17 by Paula Winke and seconded by Pedro Cordova.